New Jersey law requires that automobile accidents be reported if certain conditions are met. If the accident results in the injury or death of any person, or causes an excess of $500 in damage to property owned by any one person, the accident must be reported to the local police department. This report should be made by using the quickest means of communication.
The New Jersey Self-Reporting Crash form (SR-1) is used to report a crash that was not investigated by the police and it is the only form that can be used for this purpose. The self-reporting crash form enables NJ citizens to fill out a form online and receive acknowledgment back within minutes. The online receipts are equivalent to the paper versions stamped by the NJDOT and can be submitted to an insurance company. The New Jersey Self-Reporting Crash Form can be found here.
All crash reports for the Readington Township Police Department are available at police headquarters or can be purchased online by visiting CRASHDOCS.ORG. Please note, crash reports are generally not available for 5 to 7 business days from the date of the crash.
All other police reports
In Person requests for reports can be made Monday -Friday 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. You will be asked to complete a Records Request Form. You will need proof of identification.
In some cases, an OPRA request is necessary. The Open Public Records Act (OPRA) allows members of the public to access certain records of the police department. OPRA requests must be submitted to the Readington Township Municipal Clerk. A Readington Township OPRA request form, which includes the requestor’s name, address and telephone number and the record sought, must be completed and submitted to the Municipal Clerk as the Custodian of Public Records. Click here for an OPRA Request Form.
Certain police records are exempt from public access. The New Jersey Open Public Records Act specifies which records are exempt from disclosure. If you request a record deemed to be exempt from release, you will be notified of the denial of access to the record requested. You have the right to appeal the decision to the Public Records Council or to the New Jersey Superior Court as provided by N.J.S.A. 47:1A-6-7.
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 47:1A the Records Custodian is permitted seven (7) business days (excluding holidays) to respond to your request. Should there be any extenuating circumstances that will prevent the seven (7) business day response, this will be addressed to the requestor in writing.
For more information about access to police department public records, please contact the Readington Township Police Department Records Bureau at (908)534-4031 or Readington Township Clerk's Office at 908-534-4051.